Back to All Events

Tea Time at Alamo Square

String Quintets:
Mozart G minor K.516
Dvorák E flat major Op. 97

Chen Zhao, Violin | Karsten Windt, Violin & Introductions | Caroline Lee, Viola | Elizabeth Prior, Viola | Angela Lee, Cello
Kindly hosted by Grace Shohet and David Brownstein

You are cordially invited to join us for a classical Tea Time Concert in San Francisco with a program of great string quintets, featuring two composers who both have created masterpieces for this genre. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was the first major composer to write string quintets, adding a second viola to the quartet. The G minor Quintet, written in the key that he used for dramatic and rather personal content, remains one of the greatest chamber music works for strings. Second part of the program is the late Quintet Op. 97 by Antonin Dvorák, the great Czech composer who was admired by Brahms for his never ending inspiration of wonderful, often popular melodies. Coffee, tea and delicious homemade cakes will be served, with whipped cream of course - typical of Austrian and Czech coffee houses.

Doors open 4:30pm. Music at 5pm. Please allow enough time to check in.
Suggested donation: $ 15-25; Tea, coffee and home made cake included. Cash or checks are welcome at the venue.

Later Event: June 4